Franklin County Foundation

Slide background

Ben Franklin Cupola

Slide background

Chambersburg Fountain

Slide background

Franklin County Corn Field

Slide background

Franklin County Fields Farm

Slide background

Old Mill Grainery

Slide background

Stevens Trail Caledonia

Franklin County Foundation Logo


The Franklin County Foundation (FCF), established in 1987, is a regional foundation of The Foundation for Enhancing Communities. FCF makes discretionary grants to nonprofit organizations in Franklin County. FCF also serves as a vehicle for individuals, companies, foundations and charitable organizations to establish funds that will support the civic, social, educational and cultural well-being of individuals living in Franklin County. FCF ensures that all gifts, ranging from a few dollars to a few thousand dollars, will work to improve the quality of life for Franklin County residents, today and in the future.

Advisory Committee

Nancy Glen, Chair
Harold L. Brake
Dawn Keller
Leroy S. Maxwell, Jr.
John C. McKenzie
John Rotz
Charles G. Schlichter, Jr.
David F. Spang
L. Jeffrey Mattern, ex officio


The Franklin County Foundation currently manages 51 funds with assets totaling $7,773,542.00 (12/31/15).

For a complete list funds, please click here.

Grants Information

FCF conducts an annual competitive grantmaking program for nonprofit organizations serving Franklin county. FCF’s strategic grantmaking focus is to invest in innovative, collaborative approaches and solutions to community problems, and to support projects that demonstrate achievable outcomes, the potential for replication as a model program, and plans for sustainability beyond the grant term. The overarching goal is to fund programs and services that have the potential for the greatest impact on the quality of life and positive outcomes for individuals and families living in Franklin county.

Please click here for more information on how to apply.

2016 Advisory Committee Directed Grants Total: $68,535.00

Recipient Grant Amount
Alexander Hamilton Memorial Free Library $2,900.00
American Foundation for Suicide Prevention – South Central PA $450.00
Children Aid Society $5,000.00
Conococheague Institute for The Study of Cultural Heritage $5,165.00
Cumberland Valley Animal Shelter Inc. $3,000.00
Cumberland Valley School of Music $3,600.00
Diaper Depot at Central $8,929.00
Dickinson College $1,182.00
Franklin County Library System $8,929.00
Healthy Communities Partnership of Greater Franklin Co Inc. $4,998.50
Kidney Foundation of Central Pennsylvania $2,640.50
Mainstreet Waynesboro Inc. $2,000.00
Renfrew Committee Inc. $3,000.00
Ronald McDonald House Charities of Central Pa $5,000.00
Vision Resources of Central Pennsylvania (VROCP) $2,503.50
Waynesboro Community Concert Association $3,000.00
Wilson College $6,238.00

2015 Total Grants Awarded*: $313,974.00

*Includes grants directed by donors and grants directed by Advisory Committee.

Scholarship Information

2016 Scholarships Total: $63,158.00

Awardees for 2016 scholarships were:

  • Beistle Company Scholarship – $4,000
    • Joshua Coldsmith
  • Waynsboro Community Concert Association’s Joseph Bowers Scholarship Fund – $500
    • Jarrett Rolls
  • Chambersburg Fannett-Metal School District – $5,000
    • Robyn Guarriello
  • Henry and Janet Guarriello Scholarship Fund – $2,400
    • Grace Boscolo – $1,200
    • Sarah Steele – $1,200
  • Gordon B. and Josephine Hewlett Memorial Scholarship Fund – $3,346
    • Shelby Armstrong – $1,673
    • Kendra Freeman – $1,673
  • Dr. and Mrs. Charles M. Markle Scholarship – $2,000
    • Kelley Mong – $1,000
    • Taylor Naugle – $1,000
  • Keith A. Schaeffer Memorial Scholarship – $1,500
    • Colleen Eidemiller – $500
    • Edie Sims – $1,000
  • Ward Sleichter and Frances F. Sleichter Memorial Scholarship Award – 40,000
    • Rachel Coldsmith – $20,000
    • Tyler Gustafson – $20,000
  • Norman & Lois Sollenberger Scholarship – $1,486.00
    • Kendyl Witmer
  • Soroptimist International of Chambersburg Fund – $289
    • Suzanne Crider
  • Mabel M. Witmer Scholarship Fund – $2,637
    • Cody Cline – $2,137
    • Jaedanne Kutz – $500