Select Page
our community

Franklin County Community Foundation

Slide background

Ben Franklin Cupola

Slide background

Chambersburg Fountain

Slide background

Franklin County Corn Field

Slide background

Franklin County Fields Farm

Slide background

Old Mill Grainery

Slide background

Stevens Trail Caledonia

PO Box 288 | Chambersburg, PA 17201-9998


The Franklin County Community Foundation (FCCF), established in 1987, is a regional foundation of The Foundation for Enhancing Communities. FCCF makes discretionary grants to nonprofit organizations in Franklin County. FCCF also serves as a vehicle for individuals, companies, foundations, and charitable organizations to establish funds that will support the civic, social, educational, and cultural well-being of individuals living in Franklin County. FCCF ensures that all gifts, ranging from a few dollars to a few thousand dollars, will work to improve the quality of life for Franklin County residents, today and in the future.


The Franklin County Community Foundation currently manages 48 funds with assets totaling $11,582,823 (12/31/20).

For a complete list funds, please click here.

Advisory Committee

John Rotz, Chair
Suzanne Trinh, Vice Chair
Teresa Beckner
Harold L. Brake
Abel Castro
Robert Correll
Anne Finucane
Michael Kalathas
Thomas Steiger, Jr.
John Wheeler

Dr. Carolyn Dumaresq, Chair of the Board of Directors, and Robert E. Caplan, Vice Chair of the Board of Directors, serve as ex officios on all committees.


FCCF conducts an annual competitive grantmaking program for nonprofit organizations serving Franklin county. FCCF’s strategic grantmaking focus is to invest in innovative, collaborative approaches and solutions to community problems, and to support projects that demonstrate achievable outcomes, the potential for replication as a model program, and plans for sustainability beyond the grant term. The overarching goal is to fund programs and services that have the potential for the greatest impact on the quality of life and positive outcomes for individuals and families living in Franklin county.

Please click here for more information on how to apply.

2020 Advisory Committee Directed Grants Total: $79,427.00

Recipient Grant Amount
Capitol Theatre Center Foundation  $    2,867.00
Chambersburg Area Council for the Arts  $    3,500.00
Children Aid Society – Southern Pennsylvania District Church of the Brethren  $    7,000.00
CONTACT Helpline  $    2,500.00
Cumberland Valley Breast Care Alliance, Inc.  $    7,000.00
Cumberland Valley Rails To Trails Council, Inc.  $    2,000.00
Diaper Depot at Central  $    7,120.50
Employment Skills Center  $    5,000.00
Franklin County Legal Services  $    7,000.00
Greencastle-Antrim Education Foundation  $    2,100.00
Pennsylvania Society for Biomedical Research  $    7,120.50
The Boys And Girls Club of Chambersburg & Shippensburg, Inc.  $    7,000.00
The Pennsylvania State University  $    7,000.00
Totem Pole Playhouse  $    1,000.00
Waynesboro Area Business Education and Community Foundation  $    4,700.00
Waynesboro Community & Human Services, Inc.  $    6,519.00

2020 Total Grants Awarded*: $341,692

*Includes grants directed by donors and grants directed by Advisory Committee.


2020 Scholarships Total: $57,660.00

Awardees for 2020 scholarships were:


  • Beistle Company Scholarship
    • Shannon Helfrick – $2,000.00
  • Waynsboro Community Concert Association’s Joseph Bowers Scholarship Fund
    • Taylor Stevens – $1,000.00
  • Chambersburg Fannett-Metal School District Scholarship Fund
    • Bryce Kibbe – $5,000.00
  • Henry and Janet Guarriello Scholarship Fund
    • Elizabeth Hill – $2,500.00
  • Gordon B. and Josephine Hewlett Memorial Scholarship Fund
    • Makenzie Armstrong – $1,500.00
    • Emma Bert – $3,000.00
    • Andrea Fox – $3,000.00
    • Janelle Garbinski – $3,000.00
    • Lacey Maclay – $2,000.00
    • Amayah Roberts – $3,000.00
    • Katelyn Spies – $2,000.00
  • James G. Hewlett Memorial Scholarship
    • Alyssa Blair – $1,450.00
    • Shaylin Myers – $1,450.00
  • Dr. and Mrs. Charles M. Markle Scholarship
    • Madeleine Rushlow – $2,000.00
  • Ward Sleichter and Frances F. Sleichter Memorial Scholarship Award
    • Nicholas Gustasfon – $20,000.00
  • Norman & Lois Sollenberger Scholarship
    • Justin Maxwell – $915.00
    • Matthew Morine – $500.00
  • Soroptimist International of Chambersburg Fund
    • Alyssa Brunner – $345.00
  • Mabel M. Witmer Scholarship Fund
    • Jared Bussard – $3,000.00

contact us

Are you interested in more information about The Franklin County Community Foundation?

get in touch with us