our community

Greater Harrisburg Community Foundation

Give Where You Live!

Help us increase the funds flowing to the Greater Harrisburg Area by making a tax-deductible donation to the Fund for the Future and you’ll improve your community for good, forever.

Give Today


The Greater Harrisburg Community Foundation (GHCF) was established in 1920 by Donald McCormick. In 2005, GHCF changed its name to The Foundation for Enhancing Communities in order to better reflect its mission and expanded geographic reach. The name GHCF was maintained as the representative entity charged with carrying out the grantmaking efforts as one of six current regional foundations. GHCF makes discretionary grants to nonprofit organizations that serve residents of Cumberland, Dauphin, Franklin, Lebanon, and Perry counties, and the Dillsburg Area.


The Greater Harrisburg Community Foundation currently manages 603 funds with assets totaling $93,238,978 (12/31/22).

For a complete list funds, please click here.

Grantmaking Committee

Beth Hancock, Chair
Jennifer N. Baar
Esmeralda Hetrick
Marlene Kanuck
David Kutz
Susan Simms Marsh
Donna Murray
Richard D. Spiegelman

Dr. Carolyn Dumaresq, Chair of the Board of Directors, and Robert E. Caplan, Vice Chair of the Board of Directors, serve as ex officios on all committees.

2022 Total Grants Awarded*: $5,618,226

*Includes grants directed by donors and grants directed by Grantmaking Committee.


The Greater Harrisburg Community Foundation (GHCF), a regional foundation of The Foundation for Enhancing Communities, offers the following competitive grant opportunities:

Learn more about each grant opportunity, here.

Scholarship Information

2022 Scholarships Total: $460,252 | 293 students

An additional more than 100 students received scholarships through management agreements with the Samuel L. Abrams Foundation, the Leon Lowengard and Ray S. Shoemaker scholarships of BNY Mellon, N.A. and the York Rotary Charitable Endowment Fund for the 2022/2023 school year.

contact us

Are you looking for more information on The Greater Harrisburg Foundation?

get in touch with us