our community

Mechanicsburg Area Community Foundation

Give Where You Live !

Help us increase the funds flowing to the Mechanicsburg Area by making a tax-deductible donation to the Mechanicsburg Area Community Fund and you’ll improve your community for good, forever.

Give Today


In 1986, Mechanicsburg community leaders established the Mechanicsburg Area Community Foundation (MACF) to build permanent endowments to benefit the Mechanicsburg area’s ZIP codes of 17055 and 17050. MACF decided to affiliate itself as a regional foundation of The Foundation for Enhancing Communities to help minimize the expenses associated with creating an independent community foundation. The MACF Advisory Committee provides insight on local issues to strengthen fundraising and grantmaking efforts for the benefit of Mechanicsburg area residents.


Mechanicsburg Area Community Foundation currently manages 76 funds with assets totaling $7,798,676 (12/31/21).

For a complete list funds, please click here.

Advisory Committee
Patricia Herring, Chair
Amy Bockis, Vice Chair
Myra Badorf
Ivy Buchan
Susanna Reppert-Brill
Karen Cochran
Sue Erdman
Shawn Greenland
Greg Longwell
Kyle Miller
John Petrie
Murrel Walters III
Linda Willis

Dr. Carolyn Dumaresq, Chair of the Board of Directors, and Robert E. Caplan, Vice Chair of the Board of Directors, serve as ex officios on all committees.

Director Emeritus

Foster M. Berkheimer
David Coover
I.S. Eberly
Patrica ‘Tita’ Eberly
Linda Mohler Humes
Charles E. Shields, Sr. (posthumously)
Milton Weber (posthumously)


MACF conducts an annual competitive grantmaking program for nonprofit organizations serving the Mechanicsburg area (zip codes 17050 & 17055). MACF’s strategic grantmaking focus is to invest in innovative, collaborative approaches and solutions to community problems, and to support projects that demonstrate achievable outcomes, the potential for replication as a model program, and plans for sustainability beyond the grant term. The overarching goal is to fund programs and services that have the potential for the greatest impact on the quality of life and positive outcomes for individuals and families living in the Mechanicsburg area.

Please click here for more information on how to apply.

2022 Advisory Committee Directed Grants Total: $74,140

Recipient Grant Amount

Big Brothers – Big Sisters of the Capital Region, Inc.

Funds will be used to implement a mentoring program for the Mechanicsburg Area. The school-based program allows unique mentoring opportunities such as High School Bigs, a program that partners high school students with Littles who attend nearby elementary schools.


Blue Mountain Escape, Inc.

Blue Mountain’s program services will assist participants working to reestablish their lives in the community. This grant will aid these participants in readjusting to life after an addictive lifestyle through Blue Mountain’s mentorship, financial literacy/education, health and basic needs, housing, and workforce development programs.


Community CARES

Community CARES helps address homelessness in Mechanicsburg by providing support, services, and referrals to those who are at risk of or experiencing homelessness. The program directly impacts Mechanicsburg’s homeless by meeting at-risk people in their community and ensuring access to basic needs.


Homeland Hospice

Homeland Hospice seeks to provide the highest quality of care to terminally ill patients and their loved ones. Funding will help the In-Home Relief Program reduce the risk factors that could lead to these problems and keep patients in their home environment, securing their comfort and improving their quality of life.


Hospice of Central Pennsylvania

Funding will be used to provide complementary therapies like palliative massage and community bereavement support to address the stress and difficulties facing patients and their families at the end of life.


Joseph T. Simpson Public Library

Funding will support the Readiness & Enhancement Program, which addresses the greater Mechanicsburg area’s need for free library-based literacy programs that ensure children are ready to start school and succeed once enrolled.


Junior Achievement of South Central Pennsylvania

Junior Achievement is committed to partnering with Mechanicsburg area schools and community members to serve as a source of inspiration for students, aid in exploring future endeavors, develop vital employability skills, and establish setting goal setting. This funding from this grant will aid two JA programs: Junior Achievement Biz Town and JA YES! (Your Economic Success).


New Hope Ministries, Inc.

New Hope Ministries’ vision statement is “Every Life Transformed!” They plan to do this by caring for their neighbors in need. Families need access to essential resources, opportunities to gain new knowledge and skills, and encouragement and motivation to do the hard work to succeed. Funds will go toward improving the lives of low-income Mechanicsburg residents.



PennCares will conduct 60-minute workshops with Mechanicsburg seniors called “Wits Workouts”, which encompasses interactive dialogue and activities promoting brain health. This holistic workshop series is designed to be interactive and experiential.


West Shore Wildlife Center

West Shore Wildlife Center provides emergency wildlife rehabilitation services and maintains a wildlife hotline. Through this grant opportunity, they will address the need in the community for wildlife services and also invite local college students who could not otherwise accept an unpaid opportunity to learn about the work performed.


2021 Total Grants Awarded*: $280,533

*Includes grants directed by donors and grants directed by Advisory Committee.


2021 Scholarships Total: $54,841.00 | 24 students

Awardees for 2021 scholarships were:

Seidle Memorial Hospital Auxiliary Cynthia L. Coller Memorial Scholarship  
Lana Wolfgang $1,000.00
Judith A. Ingram Memorial Scholarship   
Ilana Jacobson $1,500.00
Delaney McWilliams $1,500.00
Isley Ward $1,500.00
Ken and Romaine Kauffman Scholarship  
David Lynn $500.00
Mechanicsburg Area High School Alumni Association Fund   
Nandini Kumbhojkar $5,600.00
Harleen Kaur $5,600.00
Erin Harris $5,600.00
Todd Feil $5,600.00
Aiden DeLong $5,600.00
Harry A. Berkheimer Lineman of the Year Scholarship   
James Nguyen $1,000.00
Rotary Club of Mechanicsburg Charitable Fund  
Sofia Godoy $2,000.00
Deseree Kinard $2,000.00
Remy Murray $2,000.00
William Murray Foundation Scholarship Fund   
Paige Gribschaw $400.00
Operation Wildcat Scholarship Fund  
Harleen Kaur $4,000.00
Bertha and Byron L. Reppert Scholarship  
John DeWire $1,500.00
Charles Shields Scholarship Fund  
Titus Wiggins $702.00
Singiser Family Fund  
Nandini Kumbhojkar $1,200.00
Anita Laudenslager $1,200.00
Madisen Ilgenfritz $1,000.00
Michala Geraty $1,200.00
Alicia Elder $1,000.00
Richard N. Wevodau Scholarship  
Jane Mylin $1,639.00

contact us

Are you interested in more information about the Mechanicsburg Area Community Foundation?

get in touch with us