The Franklin County Community Foundation (FCCF), a regional foundation of The Foundation for Enhancing Communities (TFEC), is pleased to announce the 2018 scholarship winners. The Franklin County Community Foundation currently administers 13 funds that provide scholarships to students in Franklin County. This year, 11 of the FCCF funds granted educational scholarships.

Awardees for 2018 scholarships were:

  • Mary Mankamyer (Beistle Company Scholarship)
  • Noah Scahill (Waynesboro Community Concert Association’s Joseph Bowers Scholarship Fund)
  • Logan Bartholomew (Chambersburg Fannett-Metal School District Scholarship Fund)
  • Logan Cook (Henry and Janet Guarriello Scholarship Fund)
  • Makenzie Armstrong, Janelle Garbinski, Kimberly Jones, Lacey Maclay (Gordon B. and Josephine Hewlett Memorial Scholarship Fund)
  • Grace Mellott (James G. Hewlett Memorial Scholarship)
  • Lindsey Frey (Dr. and Mrs. Charles M. Markle Scholarship)
  • Sara Lamonica (J. Ward Sleichter and Frances F. Sleichter Memorial Scholarship Award)
  • Jonathan Crawford, Emma Freeman, Rachel Rheam (Norman & Lois Sollenberger Scholarship)
  • Erin Fickes (Soroptimist International of Chambersburg Fund)
  • Danielle Henderson, Levi Mentzer (Mabel M. Witmer Scholarship Fund)

One of four 2018 Gordon B. and Josephine Hewlett Memorial Fund recipients, Janelle K. Garbinski, thanked her scholarship donor and selection committee saying, “I want to convey my heartfelt gratitude for selecting me as a recipient of your scholarship. Having the extra money to pay my tuition bill will allow me to focus solely on my academics, instead of balancing work with schoolwork. This opportunity to continue my college education, provided by you, is life changing for my family and myself.” Janelle is a 2016 graduate of James Buchanan High School and attends Penn State University to study nursing. Janelle has shadowed neonatal nurse practitioners at Chambersburg Hospital in an effort to increase her knowledge and confirm her concentration.

FCCF scholarships can be established by individual donors or corporations, and are often in honor or memory of a loved one. A total of $57,199 was awarded through FCCF scholarships for the 2018/2019 school year.

TFEC is a partner with American Education Services (AES)/PHEAA’s Partnerships for Access to Higher Education (PATH) Program. Scholarship recipients are eligible to have their awards matched on a dollar-for-dollar basis up to $2,500 by AES/PHEAA’s PATH Program. PHEAA may grant matching funds for TFEC scholarship recipients who are enrolled in an approved Pennsylvania college or career school, as an undergraduate student on at least a half-time basis, who are a state grant recipient and who demonstrate financial need. Students must also be a resident of Pennsylvania, not in default on any educational loans, maintain academic progress, and not be considered an incarcerated student. The match provides last dollar support for tuition and fees. Scholarship recipient information is submitted by TFEC staff; no additional paperwork is required by students in order to be eligible for a PATH Program match. For additional information on this program, please visit

Share our content